Bharatanatyam Class Details

Classes are currently held online

Once restrictions lift, classes will be held in the Bay Area in South Bay/Peninsula 


MONDAYS: 6:00PM-7:00PM



FRIDAYS: 6:00PM-7:00PM

SUNDAYS: 9:00AM-10:00AM & 3:00PM-5:00PM


Beginners: $30/hr 

Intermediate: $45/hr 

Advanced: $65/hr 

Once a week


What is Bharatanatyam?

Bharatanatyam is an Indian classical dance form originated in the state of Tamilnadu and is is based on the Carnatic music system. Bharatanatyam has three elements to it - Nritta (pure rhythmic body movements), Nritya (expressions or abhinaya is emphasized), and Natya (dramatic aspect). It is  The word Bharata, interpreted as the dance form created by sage Bharata, has within it the essence and uniqueness associated with Bharatanatyam:

  • 'Bha' for bhava or abhinaya and expression

  • 'Ra' for raga or melody

  • 'Ta' for tala or rhythm.


Class Structure at Nrutyakruti

Classes are currently being held online once or twice a week and are divided into three tracks - Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced with 2 levels in each track.


Level 1 & 2

All Bharatanatyam Adavus, which are the basic dance steps along with Hand Gestures, Head, neck and Eye Movements. Upon successful completion of Beginner track, students move on to the Intermediate level.


  • Body Conditioning Exercises 

  • Adavus

  • Hand Gestures - Samyuta and Asamyuta Hastas

  • Head, Neck and Eye Movements


Level 3 & 4

Intermediate track introduces students to a ‘Bharatanatyam Margam’ format where they learn some of the dance pieces which include pure dance - Nritta as well Nritya. Initial concepts of Abhinaya are introduced here. This prepares you to move on to the advanced track.



  • Alarippu

  • Pushpanjali

  • Jathiswaram

  • Shabdam

  • Hand Gestures


Level 5 & 6

Advanced track prepares you to be ready for your Arangetram where the students learn the remaining dance pieces of the ‘Bharatanatyam Margam’ and it consists of rigorous training and commitment. It includes advanced Nritta and Nritya dance pieces.



  • Thillana

  • Varnam

  • Slokam

  • Hand Gestures

  • Devata Hastas